Skip to content
Calderdale Counts — Calderdale, in numbers.Local help →

Calderdale, in numbers

People and living standards

Calderdale council area. Every figure carries its own date.

How the population is changing, who lives here and what living standards look like.

Calderdale council area. These are council-area figures. They are not a separate history for every ward or the city centre.

More people? A different age mix?

The population grew from 192,871 in 1991 to 210,734 in 2025.

A growing number of children, working-age adults or older residents can mean different needs for homes, schools, jobs and care.

Population

1996 to 2025

Calderdale council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 191,256 people in 1996; 210,734 people in 2025. 10.2% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Population — Calderdale council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
1991192,871
1992192,728
1993192,443
1994192,293
1995191,761
1996191,256
1997191,126
1998191,137
1999191,238
2000191,928
2001192,379
2002193,201
2003193,968
2004194,980
2005196,270
2006197,761
2007199,275
2008200,960
2009202,078
2010203,049
2011204,170
2012205,116
2013205,854
2014206,614
2015207,027
2016207,744
2017207,459
2018207,215
2019207,729
2020206,976
2021206,828
2022207,597
2023208,687
2024209,828
2025210,734
Source →
People aged 0 to 15

People aged 0 to 15

1996 to 2025

Calderdale council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 40,960 people in 1996; 38,929 people in 2025. 5% lower between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 0 to 15 — Calderdale council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199140,524
199240,714
199341,105
199441,378
199541,210
199640,960
199741,009
199840,950
199941,191
200041,262
200140,945
200240,742
200340,460
200440,231
200540,161
200640,023
200740,065
200840,078
200940,097
201040,171
201140,095
201240,295
201340,336
201440,412
201540,577
201640,800
201740,823
201840,788
201940,814
202040,269
202139,869
202239,812
202339,707
202439,411
202538,929
Source →
People aged 16 to 64

People aged 16 to 64

1996 to 2025

Calderdale council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 119,868 people in 1996; 129,620 people in 2025. 8.1% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 16 to 64 — Calderdale council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
1991120,940
1992120,712
1993120,267
1994120,126
1995119,975
1996119,868
1997119,872
1998120,176
1999120,077
2000120,735
2001121,401
2002122,384
2003123,332
2004124,598
2005125,947
2006127,434
2007128,791
2008129,926
2009130,439
2010130,769
2011131,348
2012130,758
2013130,447
2014130,147
2015129,726
2016129,619
2017128,905
2018128,297
2019128,114
2020127,617
2021127,463
2022127,639
2023128,241
2024128,993
2025129,620
Source →
People aged 65 or over

People aged 65 or over

1996 to 2025

Calderdale council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 30,428 people in 1996; 42,185 people in 2025. 38.6% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 65 or over — Calderdale council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199131,407
199231,302
199331,071
199430,789
199530,576
199630,428
199730,245
199830,011
199929,970
200029,931
200130,033
200230,075
200330,176
200430,151
200530,162
200630,304
200730,419
200830,956
200931,542
201032,109
201132,727
201234,063
201335,071
201436,055
201536,724
201637,325
201737,731
201838,130
201938,801
202039,090
202139,496
202240,146
202340,739
202441,424
202542,185
Source →

Population growth alone does not show whether services are under pressure. Capacity, location and residents’ needs also matter.

How residents described their ethnic group

These are census snapshots, not annual estimates. Open a year to see both the number of people and their share of the population.

2021 census · 206,631 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Calderdale · 2021
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
Asian, Asian British or Asian Welsh21,72610.5%
Black, Black British, Black Welsh, Caribbean or African1,4390.7%
Mixed or Multiple ethnic groups4,0271.9%
White177,83686.1%
Other ethnic group1,6030.8%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →
2011 census · 203,826 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Calderdale · 2011
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
White182,78789.7%
Mixed/multiple ethnic groups2,7971.4%
Asian/Asian British16,8758.3%
Black/African/Caribbean/Black British8990.4%
Other ethnic group4680.2%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →
2001 census · 192,405 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Calderdale · 2001
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
White178,98193%
Mixed1,5460.8%
Asian/Asian British10,9505.7%
Black/Black British4370.2%
Chinese/Other4910.3%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →

A complete, comparable 30-year ethnicity history is not available for every current area. Missing years have not been estimated.

How comfortable is life here?

Pay, housing costs, health and opportunities tell different parts of the story. An area average can hide large differences between households.

In 2024, average disposable income per person was 14.7% below the UK average.

Money available to spend or save per person

1997 to 2024

Calderdale council area · Cash prices, before allowing for inflation

Reviewed figures: 1997 to 2024. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: £9,562 per person in 1997; £22,151 per person in 2024. 131.7% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published ONS table values from one 1997–2024 release, matched by exact source geography code. Table3 per-person values are retained, not recalculated from rounded totals. Source country/region references are the official published totals, not averages of selected councils.

Amounts are in cash prices for each year and include inflation. A rise does not by itself show an increase in purchasing power.

This is an average per resident, including children and retired people, not the income of a typical household, wages or wealth.

These are official statistics in development, combining administrative and survey inputs. The Annual Population Survey contributes to some components; it is not the sole source.

The 2024 estimates are provisional. Earlier years have been revised within this single release; no release editions are spliced.

The UK index compares each year with the UK average in that same year. It is not an inflation-adjusted income index.

Geography as published in the ONS 19 August 2026 release; exact source code retained. The workbook does not specify a separate local-boundary effective date.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Money available to spend or save per person — Calderdale council area: full reviewed history
Period£ per person, current prices
19979,562
19989,792
199910,230
200010,781
200111,099
200211,279
200311,799
200412,336
200512,669
200613,062
200713,699
200813,778
200913,937
201014,116
201114,335
201214,832
201315,406
201415,925
201516,720
201616,672
201717,081
201817,535
201918,043
202018,045
202118,677
202219,454
202320,880
202422,151
Source →
Has the gap with the UK average changed?

Above zero means income is above the UK average; below zero means it is below. Each year is compared with the UK average for that same year.

Income above or below the UK average

1997 to 2024

Calderdale council area · %

Reviewed figures: 1997 to 2024. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: -9.9% in 1997; -14.7% in 2024. 4.8 percentage points lower.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published ONS table values from one 1997–2024 release, matched by exact source geography code. Table3 per-person values are retained, not recalculated from rounded totals. Source country/region references are the official published totals, not averages of selected councils. Displayed as the published UK=100 value minus 100, giving the percentage above or below the UK average.

Amounts are in cash prices for each year and include inflation. A rise does not by itself show an increase in purchasing power.

This is an average per resident, including children and retired people, not the income of a typical household, wages or wealth.

These are official statistics in development, combining administrative and survey inputs. The Annual Population Survey contributes to some components; it is not the sole source.

The 2024 estimates are provisional. Earlier years have been revised within this single release; no release editions are spliced.

The UK index compares each year with the UK average in that same year. It is not an inflation-adjusted income index.

Geography as published in the ONS 19 August 2026 release; exact source code retained. The workbook does not specify a separate local-boundary effective date.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Income above or below the UK average — Calderdale council area: full reviewed history
Period%
1997-9.9
1998-9.6
1999-9.6
2000-9.4
2001-10.3
2002-10.9
2003-9.5
2004-9.1
2005-9.9
2006-10.8
2007-10.7
2008-12.5
2009-13
2010-12.6
2011-12
2012-12.2
2013-12
2014-11.9
2015-12.1
2016-13.4
2017-13.3
2018-14.1
2019-14.4
2020-14
2021-14.5
2022-15.3
2023-14.6
2024-14.7
Source →

Mixed-source official estimates: administrative records and surveys. Income here is the average money per resident available to spend or save after tax and benefits. It is not typical pay or household wealth. Cash figures do not show how much prices changed.

Adults in work

56%

21 March 2021 · Calderdale council area

Show the workings

All usual residents aged 16 and over

21 March 2021, residents aged 16 and over. Includes full-time students in the corresponding work/unemployment categories. Not a current labour-market estimate or the usual 16–64 employment rate. Census took place during the coronavirus pandemic; furlough and lockdown affected answers. Ward counts sum complete official output-area best-fit membership; privacy adjustment can make totals differ slightly.

Source →

Households facing several disadvantages

19.2%

21 March 2021 · Calderdale council area

Show the workings

All households

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

Adults with no qualifications

19.2%

21 March 2021 · Calderdale council area

Show the workings

Residents aged 16 and over

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

People reporting bad or very bad health

5.7%

21 March 2021 · Calderdale council area

Show the workings

All usual residents; self-reported, not age-standardised

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

Average home price

£191,000

July 2026 · Calderdale council area

Show the workings

Homes in the local authority area

Published UK House Price Index average price, all property types and all buyers, not seasonally adjusted. Entire series comes from the 2026-07 official full-file release, preserving its historical revisions and exact area codes. It is a mix-adjusted average, not the median price paid.

Source →

Average monthly private rent

£756

August 2026 · Calderdale council area

Show the workings

Homes in the local authority area

Official local housing data feed. House prices are provisional, not seasonally adjusted; rents use the Price Index of Private Rents. Local short-term estimates are variable. Country references use only the explicitly country-coded ctry object, never the local place object.

Source →

Deprivation describes several kinds of disadvantage. It is not a measure of household wealth. A change in an area's ranking does not by itself show whether living conditions improved.

See differences between neighbourhoods →

What could the changes mean locally?

Use the age profile alongside school places and care capacity, and look at housing costs alongside pay. Then check whether local plans respond to the needs shown by the evidence.

Read the local action plan →
Which histories are missing or need care?

These histories describe the stated whole area. A consistent historical series for its current wards has not been established.

1991 ethnicity has not been reconstructed to this current area. No annual ethnicity values are inferred between census dates.

These local income figures include inflation. No local inflation-adjusted income series has been substituted or inferred from regional prices.

This series describes the stated council or reference area. A comparable 30-year income history for its current wards has not been established.

The reviewed release starts in 1997. Earlier income values have not been invented or joined from another definition.